Community

A graphic announcing the Southwest Metro Magazine Best of Southwest Metro 2020 winners.

We reveal your top picks for the people, places and things that make the Southwest Metro such a great place to live, work and visit.

The best ‘thank you’ Cam-Tu N. Dalluge receives from her patients is a hug. As the owner of Radiance Dental in Chanhassen, Victoria resident Dalluge receives them often from grateful patients.

Thor Hansen was out for a walk with his son and daughter-in-law and their Corgi, Turing, at the Cummins Grill farmhouse in Eden Prairie when he took this photo.

The 2017 Best of the Southwest Metro survey is almost here! Don't miss your chance to vote for your favorite shops, restaurants, hot spots and more.

While working in his yard one day, David Schmidt took a snapshot of his cat, Roxy. Schmidt and his family, who live in Chaska, adopted Roxy 10 years ago. “We found her at the Humane Society and it was immediately obvious that she was the right kitten for us,” Schmidt says.

While in her dining room one day, Christine Neff Kojetin did not expect to get so close to a buck. “This young buck had ventured to the point that he was literally 20 feet from me on the other side of a window and fence,” Kojetin says.

Every year we look forward to the flood of images that appear on our submission site as we launch our annual photo contest. This year was no different and we received countless beautiful photos from many talented members of our community.

Lisa Tomassen, an Eden Prairie resident, loves snapping photos of her children. In October 2014, on an annual pumpkin picking trip to Marshall’s Farm Market and very pregnant with her second child, Tomassen captured a moment of her oldest helping her pick out pumpkins.

A few years ago, an editor presented me with an assignment that seemed somewhat insurmountable. Somewhere in the suburbs, there were groups of moms who gathered together to plan and exchange meals. Could I find one and write an article about it?

A napkin. The driver simply reached to retrieve a napkin. That seemingly innocuous action led to the death of 19-year-old Shreya Dixit, who was on her way home from the University of Wisconsin-Madison to celebrate Diwali, an important Hindu festival, with her Eden Prairie family.

Something New for the Best of Southwest Metro 2017!

Voting for our annual readers’ choice poll will take place January 1-31, 2017 here on the site and finalists will be posted online in March.

Look for the winners in the July 2017 issue of Southwest Metro Magazine!

Pages

Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Thu Dec 31 2020.
Saturday, January 4, Sunday, January 5, Saturday, January 11, Sunday, January 12, Saturday, January 18, Sunday, January 19, Saturday, January 25, Sunday, January 26, Saturday, February 1, Sunday, February 2, Saturday, February 8, Sunday, February 9, Saturday, February 15, Sunday, February 16, Saturday, February 22, Sunday, February 23, Saturday, February 29, Sunday, March 1, Saturday, March 7, Sunday, March 8, Saturday, March 14, Sunday, March 15, Saturday, March 21, Sunday, March 22, Saturday, March 28, Sunday, March 29, Saturday, April 4, Sunday, April 5, Saturday, April 11, Sunday, April 12, Saturday, April 18, Sunday, April 19, Saturday, April 25, Sunday, April 26, Saturday, May 2, Sunday, May 3, Saturday, May 9, Sunday, May 10, Saturday, May 16, Sunday, May 17, Saturday, May 23, Sunday, May 24, Saturday, May 30, Sunday, May 31, Saturday, June 6, Sunday, June 7, Saturday, June 13, Sunday, June 14, Saturday, June 20, Sunday, June 21, Saturday, June 27, Sunday, June 28, Saturday, July 4, Sunday, July 5, Saturday, July 11, Sunday, July 12, Saturday, July 18, Sunday, July 19, Saturday, July 25, Sunday, July 26, Saturday, August 1, Sunday, August 2, Saturday, August 8, Sunday, August 9, Saturday, August 15, Sunday, August 16, Saturday, August 22, Sunday, August 23, Saturday, August 29, Sunday, August 30, Saturday, September 5, Sunday, September 6, Saturday, September 12, Sunday, September 13, Saturday, September 19, Sunday, September 20, Saturday, September 26, Sunday, September 27, Saturday, October 3, Sunday, October 4, Saturday, October 10, Sunday, October 11, Saturday, October 17, Sunday, October 18, Saturday, October 24, Sunday, October 25, Saturday, October 31, Sunday, November 1, Saturday, November 7, Sunday, November 8, Saturday, November 14, Sunday, November 15, Saturday, November 21, Sunday, November 22, Saturday, November 28, Sunday, November 29, Saturday, December 5, Sunday, December 6, Saturday, December 12, Sunday, December 13, Saturday, December 19, Sunday, December 20, Saturday, December 26, Sunday, December 27
[Food & Drink], [For the Kids]
Start your weekend off with a hot breakfast at the MN Landscape Arboretum!
Saturday, January 4, Sunday, January 5, Saturday, January 11, Sunday, January 12, Saturday, January 18, Sunday, January 19, Saturday, January 25, Sunday, January 26, Saturday, February 1, Sunday, February 2, Saturday, February 8, Sunday, February 9, Saturday, February 15, Sunday, February 16, Saturday, February 22, Sunday, February 23, Saturday, February 29, Sunday, March 1, Saturday, March 7, Sunday, March 8, Saturday, March 14, Sunday, March 15, Saturday, March 21, Sunday, March 22, Saturday, March 28, Sunday, March 29, Saturday, April 4, Sunday, April 5, Saturday, April 11, Sunday, April 12, Saturday, April 18, Sunday, April 19, Saturday, April 25, Sunday, April 26, Saturday, May 2, Sunday, May 3, Saturday, May 9, Sunday, May 10, Saturday, May 16, Sunday, May 17, Saturday, May 23, Sunday, May 24, Saturday, May 30, Sunday, May 31, Saturday, June 6, Sunday, June 7, Saturday, June 13, Sunday, June 14, Saturday, June 20, Sunday, June 21, Saturday, June 27, Sunday, June 28, Saturday, July 4, Sunday, July 5, Saturday, July 11, Sunday, July 12, Saturday, July 18, Sunday, July 19, Saturday, July 25, Sunday, July 26, Saturday, August 1, Sunday, August 2, Saturday, August 8, Sunday, August 9, Saturday, August 15, Sunday, August 16, Saturday, August 22, Sunday, August 23, Saturday, August 29, Sunday, August 30, Saturday, September 5, Sunday, September 6, Saturday, September 12, Sunday, September 13, Saturday, September 19, Sunday, September 20, Saturday, September 26, Sunday, September 27, Saturday, October 3, Sunday, October 4, Saturday, October 10, Sunday, October 11, Saturday, October 17, Sunday, October 18, Saturday, October 24, Sunday, October 25, Saturday, October 31, Sunday, November 1, Saturday, November 7, Sunday, November 8, Saturday, November 14, Sunday, November 15, Saturday, November 21, Sunday, November 22, Saturday, November 28, Sunday, November 29, Saturday, December 5, Sunday, December 6, Saturday, December 12, Sunday, December 13, Saturday, December 19, Sunday, December 20, Saturday, December 26, Sunday, December 27
[Food & Drink], [For the Kids]
Start your weekend off with a hot breakfast at the MN Landscape Arboretum!

Event Galleries

Take a look at photos from events in your community.